May 1

I had a bit of a rough April but it did have some great highlights. One of the main poetry-related ones was that on the 17th, I read a couple of poems out loud at a book launch with about 12 other poets and it went really well.

I felt like it would be a good and necessary experience since I’m not used to reading out loud in front of a group of strangers. I’m extremely introverted… an INFP, according to the Myers-Briggs test. Everyone was there for the same reason (whether they had poems published in the book or were there for their poet), so that probably helped a lot. It was only the second time I’d read aloud like that. The first time was back in the fall and it was a much smaller group.

It was special to have two women from my writing group with me. They were both very encouraging and supportive and we enjoyed our time together.

For April, my writers’ book group discussed Eats, Shoots & Leaves. It was a very interesting look at the importance of punctuating things correctly.

Leave a comment